Lab members


This is what we’re like ALL the time. Really. Sciencing that science! (Baenziger lab winter 2016, left to right: Dan 2, Dan 1, Claire, Camille, Isabelle, Jaimee, Jiayin)

Current Research Group (updates in progress)

Postdoctoral Fellow

Camille Hénault, PhD

MSc Biochemistry, University of Ottawa (2013-2015)

B.Sc. Biochemistry/Min. Biol., University of Ottawa (2013)

Home town: Aylmer, Quebec

Research Project: The lipid-dependent uncoupled nAChR


                  • Governor General’s gold medal, PhD thesis
                  • Valedictorian, class of 2021
                  • NSERC Canada Graduate Scholarship CGS-D (2015-2018)
                  • 2nd place talk, BMI Seminar Day (2016)
                  • 3rd place poster, BMI Poster Day (2015)
                  • Award of Excellence in Graduate Studies (2014)

Graduate Students

Mackenzie Thompson, PhD student (2019-2023)

MSc Biochemistry, University of Ottawa (2017-2019 transfer to PhD)

BSc Biochemistry & Biotechnology, Wilfrid Laurier University (2012-2017)

Hometown: Halifax, Nova Scotia

Research Project: Lipid modulation and agonist activation of nAChRs


                  • Award for Excellence in Graduate Studies 2023
                  • NSERC Canada Graduate Scholarship CGS-D (2021-2024)
                  • Poster prize – Biophysical society of Canada annual meeting 2021
                  • Best PhD seminar (Biochemistry) 2021
                  • Masters/PhD admission scholarship – University of Ottawa (2017-2024)

Anna Ananchenko, PhD student (2021-present)

MSc Biomolecular Sciences, University of Ottawa (2019-2021, transfer to PhD)

BSc Biomedical Sciences/Biostatistics, University of Ottawa (2019)

Research project: MD simulations of anionic neutral lipid binding to nAChR


                  • Poster prize – Biophysical society of Canada annual meeting 2022
                  • Poster prize – Biophysical society of Canada annual meeting 2021
                  • Admission scholarship (University of Ottawa) (2020)



Deepansh Mody, PhD student (2021 – Present)

M. Tech Biotechnology, Jaypee Institute of Information Technology, India (2021)

B. Tech Biotechnology, NIIT University, India (2017)

Hometown: New Delhi, India

Research project: Lipidic modulation of Torpedo nAChR function


                • International Doctoral Scholarship (University of Ottawa)
                • Vice Chancellor’s Gold Medal as valedictorian in M. Tech, Jaypee Institute of Information Technology (2021 )
                • 1st place, Biotech Online Poster Presentation Competition organized by Biotecnika and Govt. of Kerala, India (2020).

Toka Hussein, PhD student (2021-present)

MSc Biochemistry, University of Ottawa (2019-2021)

BSc Biomedical Sciences, University of Science and Technology – Zewail City (2018)

Hometown: Giza, Egypt.

Research Project:  Structure-function studies of pLGICs


              • Biophysical Society of Canada 2023 Trainee Travel Award
              • Admission scholarship (University of Ottawa) (2021)
              • International doctoral scholarship (University of Ottawa) (2021)
              • Roger Guindon scholarship fund (University of Ottawa) (2021)
              • CREATE-APRENTICE Trainee scholarship – NSERC (2020)
              • Admission scholarship (University of Science and Technology) (2013)
              • Best team award at SOLE Biotechnology competition participant, Zewail City’s Presentation Team (2015)

Undergraduate Students

Rui Yan Gao

BSc Translational and Molecular Medicine, University of Ottawa (2018-2023)

Hometown: Beijing, China

Research Project: MD simulations of lipid-protein interactions


              • Undergraduate /Research Opportunity Program, University of Ottawa (2021-2022)
              • NSERC Undergraduate Student Research Award, University of Ottawa (2022, 2023)



Moustafa Habes

BSc Translational and Molecular Medicine (2021-Present) 

Hometown: Damascus, Syria 

Research Project: Structural Analysis of ACh Bound nAChR 


              • NSERC Undergraduate Student Research Award, University of Ottawa (2022, 2023)
              •  undergraduate research opportunity program, University of Ottawa (2022)





Former Students

Corrie daCosta

Associate Professor

University of Ottawa

Ottawa, Canada







Daniel Therien


NuChem Sciences

Montreal, Canada







Nathalie Méthot

Doyenne-Enseignement et recherche

Collège La Cité

Ottawa, Canada







jaimee_d (1)

Jaimee Domville
Regulatory Affairs Supervisor

Government of Canada

Ottawa, Canada






Recent Undergraduate Students

Marshall Macduff

Stephanie Bogdan

Charlotte Wagner Searle

Annie Jiang


Recent Alumni

Undergraduate Students (2011-present)

Date                   Alumnus                                      Graduating Position

2015-2019           Shobhitha Balasubramaniam      We aren’t sure!

2013-2016            Jiayin Sun                                   Medical student

2012-2016            Daniel Therien                            Graduate student in Chemistry

2015-2016            Claire Edrington                          Graduate student in Biochemistry

2015-2016            Daniel Giguere                            Graduate student in Biochemistry

2014 – 2015         Jaimee Domville                          Graduate student in Biochemistry, University of Ottawa

2014 – 2015         Matthew Robert Vincent

2012 – 2013         Cameron Smithers                       Graduate student in Biochemistry, University of Alberta

2012 – 2013         Camille Hénault                            Graduate student in Biochemistry, University of Ottawa

2011 – 2012         Julian Surujballi                            Medical student, University of Western Ontario

2011 – 2012         Daniel Therien                              Graduate student in Biochemistry, University of Ottawa

Graduate Students

Date                   Alumnus                                      Position post-graduation

2015 – 2021          Camille Hénault, Ph.D.                Postdoctoral fellow

2008 – 2014         Casey Carswell, Ph.D.                  Eastern Ontario Regional Laboratory

2009 – 2013         Jon Labriola, M.Sc.                      Ph.D. candidate in Biochemistry, McGill University

2004 – 2009         Ngoc Vuong, M.Sc.                     Ph.D. candidate in Biochemistry, University of Ottawa

2005 –2008          Michel Sturgeon, M.Sc.               Ph.D. candidate in Physiology & Neuroscience, Queen’s University

2000 – 2006          Corrie daCosta, Ph.D.                  Research Associate, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN, USA

2002 – 2005         Danny Hill, M.Sc.                          Hematologist, Sault Area Hospital

1994 – 2000         Stephen Ryan, Ph.D.                    Diagnostic Radiologist, Ottawa Hospital

1993 – 1997         Nathalie Méthot, Ph.D.                Professeure, la cité collégiale


Postdoctoral trainees

Date                   Alumnus                                      Current Position (Jan 2015)

2006 – 2009           Dr. Corrie daCosta                     Associate professor, University of Ottawa, Faculty of Science

2000 – 2002           Dr. Andrei Ogrel                        Consultant at International AIDS Vaccine Initiative

Former Research Associate

Peter Juranka
Research Associate (06/2011-07/2015)
Ph.D. Microbiology, University of Toronto (1985)

Home town: Toronto, Ontario

Research Project: Functional characterization of nAChRs using single channel and whole cell electrophysiology techniques
1986-90 Post-doc, Ontario Cancer Institute – Dr. Victor Ling.
1991-92 Research Associate, U of Toronto – Dr. V.L. Chan
1993-2011 Research Associate, Neuroscience, OHRI – Dr. C.E. Morris